Photographing the girls

Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 18.17.18

Until recently I’d never photographed women’s football, I’d barely watched it, but a couple of months ago I was approached by Forfar Farmington who play in the SWPL – the top division of Women’s football in Scotland, they’d seen how I photograph Dundee and asked if I could do the same for them.

Screen Shot 2015-10-08 at 06.11.53

I was initially a bit dubious about whether I would do it, the closest I’d been to covering Women’s  football was taking some shots of fans at the FIFA Womens’ World Cup in Vancouver back in June – and Farmington play their matches on Sunday afternoons, I cover a couple of amateur leagues at lunchtime on those days so time would be tight, but I thought I’ll give it a go and I’m glad I did – because it’s been great fun to shoot their fantastic run to safety.

Their league runs from spring to November and after ten games of their season they were eight points adrift in a relegation battle where four teams go down this season – but with two games to spare they made sure of a top division place for next season by beating Hearts on Sunday – and my picture of them celebrating (top of this post) made the front page of the Angus edition of The Courier on Monday.

Screen Shot 2015-10-08 at 05.57.00

That win over Hearts was their ninth victory in a row, I’ve photographed their last four home games during that run – there’s been a lot of goals and one of my favourite goal celebration pics of the year (above).

Screen Shot 2015-10-08 at 06.23.32

The football has been a much higher standard than I expected too – there’s some cracking players – American midfielder Tori Sousa has scored eight goals in her eight appearances for Farmington.

Screen Shot 2015-10-08 at 06.01.39

And alongside her is 16 year old Amy Gallacher, who comes from a famous footballing family – I didn’t think I’d ever say this but the best young football player I’ve seen in Scotland this year is a girl.

Screen Shot 2015-10-08 at 06.02.55

All in all it’s been a great experience to photograph the lassies and they’ve asked me back next year – I’m looking forward to it – the only criticism I’ve got about them is that they don’t sell bridies in the refreshment kiosk – come on folks a visit to Forfar isn’t complete without a bridie.

Screen Shot 2015-10-08 at 06.00.43

Farmington are a smashing, friendly club and hopefully next year we can get them a bit more coverage similar to this week.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

