A few seconds and 72 frames

wighton_900

One month ago today I was photographing the Dundee derby – two minutes into injury time with the score at 1-1 and Dundee United effectively relegated from the Premiership the other photographers sitting in the corner I was located at headed off to shoot the full time reaction of United boss Mixu Paatelainen and his walk of misery down the touchline.

That’s not something that was in my brief so I stayed put, the only photographer sitting in front of the corner of the ground where Dundee and United fans were only yards apart.

THEN – local boy and lifelong Dundee fan Craig Wighton scored the goal which put the final nail in United’s coffin – and he was only ever going to celebrate in one place – I got 72 shots of his celebration in just a few seconds, thanks to the wonderful Canon 1dx – this is the only way I can show them without the longest blog post of all time.

There won’t to be a derby next year – I’ll miss it, easily the best days of the season, but the last moments of the last derby gave me a set of images that I’ll remember for a long time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

